Music has always been a part of my life. Whether gathering around the piano to sing Christmas carols, crooning out Patridge Family hits to my electric guitar, or singing oldies with my family driving home from grandpa’s farm; my fondest childhood memories revolve around music. Two years after I accepted Christ, I sang my first duet in church with my brother, and I was hooked. I just knew God wanted me to be in full time ministry!

I tried for years to make that dream a reality, but it didn’t happen. As I look back now, much older and hopefully wiser, I ask myself why. Why did I want to sing and travel in ministry? If I’m really honest with myself, I wanted the fame. Sure, there was an element of service; I’d sing Christian songs and even pray for people after my concert, but at the center of my desire, was my own glory. I wanted to feel special, to be somebody. It was all about me!

As I approach the second half of my journey, how do I answer that question, and how do I change my focus? First of all, I know who I am in Christ. I no longer need the applause of the crowd or the approval of others to feel important. I am secure in God’s love for me. Nothing I do could ever make Him love me more than He does right now, and nothing could ever make Him love me less.

Since I have nothing to gain from music ministry, I can focus fully on what I have to give.

My highest goal is to give glory to God; in the songs I sing, the words I say, my actions, attitudes, and in the love I show to others. It’s all about Him, His greatness, His goodness, His plan, and His purpose! And God is all about people. “For God so loved…that He gave.” Jesus came, “not to be served, but to serve and to give His life…” That’s the manner and the message He gave us to communicate as His ambassadors.

The reason we sing,

The reason we lift our voice,

Is more than just making harmony.

The reason we sing

Is to praise the one who gave His Son to be

The reason we sing.

May I be so bold as to ask, why do you sing? What is your focus? Are you making music for your glory or for the glory of God? Do you seek to love the people you sing for more than you want the people to love you?